Sebring, Florida, USA – Friday 14 March, 2014

Matthew Brabham Presented With 20th Gorsline Scholarship At Sebring

Matthew Brabham, of Indianapolis and Gold Coast Australia, was presented the 20th Gorsline Scholarship by John Gorsline on Thursday, 13 March, at the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Fueled by Fresh From Florida.

Brabham, 20, is part of the Brabham Family dynasty as grandson of three-time Formula One champion Jack Brabham, son of four-time IMSA GTP champion Geoff Brabham and nephew of two-time ALMS champion David Brabham.

With this scholarship he will work with Dr. Jacques Dallaire, Director of Performance Prime, on an individually designed performance-enhancement programme, and will benefit from a unique training programme at Jim Leo's PitFit Training - all courtesy of Gorsline Company.

The Gorsline Scholarship is presented by Gorsline Company, of Rochester, N.Y., the leader in high-risk motorsports insurance. It recognises aspiring drivers by providing programmes with tools that will assist them in developing skills on and off the track to help attain their professional goals. Two other young drivers were also considered for the Scholarship: Sean Rayhall, 19, of Winston, Ga., and Madison Snow, 18, of Lehi, Utah.

"At such a young age, Matthew is already an accomplished racer," said Gorsline, principal of Gorsline Company. "All three of the candidates for the 20th Gorsline Scholarship are worthy recipients. It was a tough decision, but we selected Matthew. We're confident he'll benefit from the performance-enhancement and fitness training programmes that Dallaire and Leo will provide as he progresses in his racing career."

"I'm absolutely honoured and it really means a lot to me, for sure," said Matthew, who will begin his 2014 racing season at the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg (Fla.) on March 28-30, driving for Andretti Autsport in Indy Lights.

"I've known John Gorsline for a while now, through my father, and to have my name on the list with previous recipients with such outstanding pedigrees is really, really cool and special. I've worked with Jim Leo and Jacques Dallaire before and they are such massive influences, especially in American motorsports. So, to be on board with them helping me through this really, really important time of my career is going to be huge. I'm really looking forward to meeting with them and working with these programs to help me succeed in my racing career."

Previous recipients of the Gorsline Scholarship are:

2012 - Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
2011 - Conor Daly
2010 - Josef Newgarden
2009 - Joel Miller
2008 - Dane Cameron
2007 - JR Hildebrand
2006 - Katherine Legge
2005 - Colin Braun
2004 - Ryan Lewis
2003 - Rocky Moran Jr.
2002 - Danica Patrick
2001 - Patrick Long
2000 - Bryan Sellers
1999 - David Besnard
1998 - Buddy Rice
1997 - Butch Leitzinger
1996 - Jerry Nadeau
1995 - Anthony Lazzaro
1994 - Bryan Herta

Image © Robert Lyon. (L-R) David Brabham, Geoff Brabham, John Gorsline and 2013 Gorsline Scholarship winner, Matthew Brabham